Photo of Alan E. Schwartz

Alan E. Schwartz




Harvard Law School, LL.B.
  • magna cum laude
  • Harvard Law Review, Editor, 1948-1950
University of Michigan, B.A.
  • with distinction

Prior Employment

  • New York State Crime Commission, Special Assistant Counsel, 1951

Bar Admissions

Professional Affiliations

Harvard Law Review

  • Legal Research Program
    • Director, 1950

State Bar of Michigan

News & Resources


Alan E. Schwartz is a founding member of Honigman and a well-recognized figure in civic, cultural, and nonprofit organizations. He has participated in the advancement of nearly every major development project in the City of Detroit--either as an attorney or as a leader in business organizations. Most recently, former mayor of Detroit Dave Bing created the “Alan E. Schwartz Award” to be given annually to an individual who best demonstrates a commitment to community service as exemplified by Alan.

  • Serves as a leader in such notable civic organizations as Business Leaders for Michigan (formerly Detroit Renaissance), the Economic Alliance for Michigan, and New Detroit, Inc.
  • Supported numerous nonprofit organizations with his generosity of resources, including his leadership


City of Detroit Arts Commission

  • Advisor

Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan

  • Founding Trustee, 1984-present
  • Vice Chair, 1996-present
  • Development Committee
  • Investment Committee
  • Governance Committee

Detroit Development Ventures

  • Director 

Detroit Economic Growth Corporation

  • Board of Trustees, 1978-1998 

Detroit Institute of Arts

  • Board of Directors, 1970-present
    • Emeritus Board Member

Detroit Medical Center

  • Board of Trustees, 1993-2002 

Business Leaders for Michigan (Formerly Detroit Renaissance)

  • Director, 1960-present 

Detroit Symphony Orchestra

  • Board of Directors, 1959-present 

Economic Alliance for Michigan

  • Board of Directors 1984-present 

Interlochen Arts Academy

  • Board of Trustees, 1974-2005 

Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Detroit

  • Board of Directors, 1959-present
  • President, 1969-1972
  • Lifetime Board Member 

Meyer L. Prentis Cancer Center of Metropolitan Detroit (Currently Karmanos Cancer Institute)

  • Board Chair

Michigan Opera Theatre

  • Board of Directors, 1996-present 

Governor William G. Milliken’s Finance Committee

  • Advisor 

New Detroit, Inc.

  • Board of Trustees, 1979-present
  • Chair 1982
  • Trustee Emeritus

Oakland University

  • Board of Trustees, 1970-1979 

Skillman Foundation

  • Trustee, 1990-2001
  • Finance Chair
  • Investment and Internal Operations Committee
    • Member, 1991-1993
  • Investment Committee
    • Member, 2002-present 

United Way for Southeastern Michigan

  • Board of Directors, 1966-2011
  • Board Chair, 1980-1981
  • Vice Chair, 1979-1980
  • Alexis de’ Tocqueville Society
    • Member, 25+ years
    • Committee Member, 2001-2012
  • Attorney Initiative Member, 2005-present

Wayne State University Foundation

  • Board of Directors, 2002-present

News & Resources


Press Releases


  • The Best Lawyers in America, 1983-2020
    • Recognized in practice areas of:
      • Corporate Law
      • Mergers and Acquisitions Law
      • Securities / Capital Markets Law
  • Leading Lawyers Magazine Michigan, 2017
    • Recognized in practice areas of:
      • Closely & Privately Held Business Law
      • Corporate Finance Law
      • Mergers & Acquisitions Law
      • Publicly Held Corporations Law
  • DBusiness, Top Lawyers, 2010, 2011, and 2013-2016
  • Martindale-Hubbell AV® Preeminent™ Peer Review Rated 
  • Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree, Wayne State University, April 1983
  • Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree, University of Detroit, May 1985

Other Distinctions

  • Alan E. Schwartz Award, created by Mayor Dave Bing to be given annually to an individual who best demonstrates a commitment to community service as exemplified by Alan
  • New Detroit’s 45th Anniversary honoree as a community leader and long-time advocate for racial equality in the region (2012)
  • Fred M. Butzel Memorial Award (1974)
  • George W. Romney Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteerism (1994)
  • Max M. Fisher Community Service Award (1997) from United Way for Southeastern Michigan
  • Lifetime Achievement Award from the Detroit Institute of Arts (1997)
  • Judge Learned Hand Award (2008) from the American Jewish Committee