A new Michigan minimum wage went into effect January 1, 2016
Michigan’s minimum wage for hourly workers increased from $8.15 per hour to $8.50, effective January 1, 2016. The minimum wage for tipped workers also increased, from $3.10 to $3.23, and wages plus tips must add up to $8.50 per hour or the employer must make up the difference. The increase to $8.50 is the next phase in the gradual adjustment of the Michigan minimum wage established in 2014 by the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, and similar annual increases will go into effect in 2017 and 2018. For assistance in complying with Michigan’s wage and hour laws, contact one of Honigman's Labor and Employment attorneys.